Thursday, April 10, 2008

A 7.5 earthquake hits Loyalty Islands

april 10 2008

A 7.5 magnitude earthquake rocked the Loyalty Islands region of the South Pacific on Wednesday.

The Loyalty Islands is the name for an archipelago comprising the islands of Lifou, Mare, Ouvea and Tiga -- are part of the French territory of New Caledonia, lying about 100 kilometers east of the mainland of Australia.

The quake, centred 85 kilometres southwest of Vanuatu and 175 kilometres north-east of the Loyalty Islands in the French territory of New Caledonia, struck at 12.46GMT and 88 kilometres deep

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre issued no tsunami warning, but stated that earthquakes of such size "sometimes generate local tsunamis that can be destructive along coasts" within a hundred kilometres of the epicentre.

There were no immediate reports of damage.

Before the 7.5 magnitude earthquake hit, there were two quakes of a magnitude of 6.4 and 6.3 on the scale of Richter.

After the large earthquake 6 quakes were reported between 5.0 and 6.0, all, except the last two on exactly the same depth (35 km) and at about the same place.
The last two quakes were at a depth of 38,4 and 26.4.



Post a Comment

Thank you for your comment.